About Us


Excise Department in Karnataka came into existence during the year 1968 after relaxation of prohibition in Karnataka State. The scope of the State Excise Administration covers commodities such as Spirit, Indian Made Liquor, Beer, Medicinal and Toilet preparations etc., the objectives of the department can be summed up as ensuring public health through regulated procurement of raw-materials, manufacture of various commodities by use of these raw-materials, their storage and distribution.  These regulations ensure proper flow of revenues to the State exchequer.  Thus, the Excise Department in Karnataka is the second largest revenue-earning department in the state functioning under the administrative control of the Finance Department.


         1.         The Department is headed by the Excise Commissioner who belongs to the I.A.S. Cadre (Super time Scale). The Headquarters of the Department is in Bangalore. The Excise Commissioner is assisted by the Additional Commissioner of Excise (Head Quarters and Administration)  who belongs to IAS Cadre, Additional Commissioner of Excise (Crime & Enforcement), Joint Commissioner of Excise (Distilleries and Breweries), Joint Commissioner of Excise (Administration).  The other senior staff comprising the Deputy Commissioner  of  Excise (Legal Cell),  Deputy Director of Statistics, Senior Accounts Officer, Senior  Audit Officer (Internal Audit), Headquarters Assistants I and II  (of  the  rank of Superintendent of Excise),  three Superintendents of Excise, Assistant Director of Statistics, six Deputy Superintendents of Excise,  also assist the Excise Commissioner.

         2.       The Joint Commissioner of Excise heading the State Excise Intelligence Bureau (S.E.I.B.), is headquartered in Bangalore and has jurisdiction throughout the State. The Joint Commissioner of Excise assist the Excise Commissioner in Intelligence and in prevention of Excise Offences such as Illicit Distillation, Adulteration, Illegal Transportation of liquor and evasion of Excise Duty etc. The S.E.I.B. works under the direct control of the Excise Commissioner.  In addition, there are four Excise Intelligence Bureaus in Bangalore each of which is headed by a Superintendent of Excise under the Administrative Control of the Deputy Commissioners of Excise, Bangalore Urban District (North, East, West and South) assisting in Enforcement and implementation of the Excise Act and Rules.

         3.         Further, for Administrative Efficiency, the Enforcement wing is  divided into six Administrative Divisions. Each Division is headed    by a Joint Commissioner.  The jurisdiction of each Division is as under;



Name of the Division


Bangalore Division

Bangalore (U), Bangalore  (R), Kolar, Tumkur, Ramanagara and Chikkaballapura Districts.


Belgaum Division

Belgaum, Bijapur, Dharwad, Bagalkote
and Haveri Districts


Gulbarga Division

Bidar, Gulbarga, Raichur and Yadagiri Districts.


Hospet Division

Bellary, Chitradurga,  Davanagere, Koppal and Gadag Districts


Mangalore Division

D.Kannada, U.Kannada, Udupi, Kodagu
and Shimoga Districts


Mysore Division

Mysore, Mandya, Hassan, Chickmagalur
and Chamarajanagara Districts.


         4.       Every Revenue District in the state has a Deputy Commissioner of Excise who works under the supervision of the Deputy Commissioner of the District or District Magistrate. The Deputy Commissioner of Excise discharges statutory responsibilities under the Karnataka Excise Act, 1965 and other statutory Acts and Rules. The enforcement work in the district is the responsibility of the Deputy Commissioner of Excise.  There are 33 Deputy Commissioners of Excise in 30 districts. Because of its vast jurisdiction, Bangalore Urban district has 4 Deputy Commissioners each heading Bangalore (East), Bangalore (West), Bangalore (North) and Bangalore (South) districts.

         5.    The Superintendents of Excise, Deputy Superintendents of Excise, Inspectors, Sub-Inspectors, Head-Guards and Guards comprise the Executive Staff of the Department.  The four Excise Intelligence Bureaus in Bangalore Urban district are headed by Superintendents of Excise.  There are 63 sub-divisions, each of which is headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Excise. These Deputy Superintendents function under the administrative control of Deputy Commissioners of Excise of the Districts. In addition, there are 224 Ranges spreading all over the State normally head quartered at the Taluka level headed by Inspectors of Excise. These offices are the basic units of Administration and Enforcement.  The Range Inspectors are assisted by Excise Sub Inspectors, Head Guards & Guards. Officers of the rank of Superintendents/ Deputy Superintendents of Excise/Inspectors of Excise assisted by other staff are posted to Distilleries, Breweries and Wineries to supervise regulated movement of excisable articles and to enforce applicable Excise laws. The Department also has a Central Chemical Laboratory in Bangalore headed by a Chief Chemist. 

The number of sanctioned posts for the department is 5191, out of which   3066 are filled and remaining 2185 are vacant.